just + L

stop giving me CRAP!

04.17.05

Dear Japanese person,

I really appreciate the Japanese tradition of omiyage [small gifts given in return for a favor � usually edible], I really do. It has helped me to feel more as if I were a part of my work community and neighborhood than I may have otherwise felt. It has also given me the opportunity to express to you how grateful I am for your help and generosity. It gives me great joy to make for you something tasty, interesting, unique, and educational.

It also gives me joy to receive the little gifts that you have prepared for me. . .BUT MUST I SO OFTEN GET JUNK FOOD?!? Do I look like the sort of girl who wants a bag of sugar, fat, and salt as a �thank you�???

Please, people, I�d rather get nothing at all than another bag of BBQ � flavored heart attacks.


21:33
.. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ..



gym

04.04.05

moved

I moved to Ogaki! Banzai! Banzai! Banzai!!!

joined a gym

When I moved closer to civilization, I moved further away from my favorite recreational spots: my little mountain with its regulars that liked to greet me with, �haya-i!� [�fast!�], my little village with its big gardens and winding roads, and my little river with all its rocks.

Thankfully, civilization has Konami Sports Center. No river, but a pool. No gardens and roads, but bikes and treadmills with TV reception. No mountain regulars, but tall, lean, aerobics instructors. For about $80 a month, I can go to the gym anytime that I want [between the hours of 9:00 am and 11:00 pm, and everyday except Tuesdays].

Yesterday, I went to my first class, �Body Pump�. Aerobics with barbells. This was a good choice for me as it required little rhythm, but a fair amount of strength. Even though it was my first time, and even though I only understood about 15% of what the instructor was saying, I held my own and did a standup job representing Foreign Women in Japan.

Tonight, I braved my second class, �Body Combat�. Nothing like Body Pump. This was not such a good choice for me as it required tremendous rhythm, but not much strength. It was my first time and it showed. I danced around to the videogame music like Britney, threw punches and imaginary energy balls like the boys in Dragon Ball Z, and back-kicked, side-kicked, front-kicked, jump-kicked, and spin-kicked as though I were in the game Mortal Combat.

I felt like a clown, laughed at myself like a clown, and probably looked like a clown. But, the instructor� Watching him throw punches while flashing a smile made it all worthwhile.

I�m going again next week.


22:35
.. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ..