just + L

a little gifu

07.11.05

Attention Gifu JETs. For just 2000 yen you can get your very own limited edition, super-cool, I-want-one-too-where-can-I-buy-it, locally-designed, locally-produced, state-of-the-art t-shirt.

The first order will be in on July 19th, and a second one will most likely be placed mid-August.

To place your order, click on the 'email me' link to the left.

Departing JETs, this would be a great souveneir for you to take home!

[click to enlarge]

The front design is about 18 centimeters wide and is simply located in the center of the shirt.

[click to enlarge]

The backside design is small and located just below the collar, centered between the shoulder blades.

22:49
.. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ..



gifu gonna get'cha

07.11.05

I traveled to Tajima, Hyogo Prefecture on Saturday and Sunday of this past weekend with 12 others from Gifu Prefecture in order to compete in a mixed Ultimate Frisbee tournament.

The team, "Gifu Gonna Get'cha", far surpassed my expectations by finishing 3rd. To be honset, my expectations were so low in fact that I was happy and satisfied with the weekend after we won our first game. I was content and ready to lose all games that followed.

Anyway, I'm happy and looking forward to next year's tournament.

22:39
.. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ..



tanabata revisited

07.11.05

Last Friday, I went over to my friend's apartment, had dinner, and celebrated tanabata with her and her husband.

Mina provided me with a little bit of the tanabata story:

"There was a man called Hikoboshi and a lady called Orihime. They were in love, but Orihime's father wouldn't allow them to marry. The father said, 'I will not even allow you to meet each other, but once a year.' So, on July 7th, Orihime and Hikoboshi must cross the milky way [called amanogawa] in order to meet. If it
rains, they can't meet because there won't be any stars..."

Mina went on to say, "Well, I'm not very sure about the story. Sorry. Anyway, we wish for there to be nice weather on Tanabata, but to be honest, it usually rains because it is the rainy season."

To celebrate Tanabata, the Japanese hang a bamboo branch outside their houses or inside and decorate it with celestial images, wishes written on paper, and honey-combed Japanese 'snowflakes'. Under the branch is placed a tomato, an eggplant, and a cucumber.

Here's a photo of me and Mina with the branch between us. No leaves are visible because the tree had been hanging for a few days by then they were considerably dry and shrivelled.

[click to enlarge]

21:52
.. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ..