just + L

new digs ll

05.26.05

My big brother and the woman who chose to join him in wedded bliss are also moving to new digs...
in Trujillo, PERU.

Don't know where Peru is? Follow this handy link:

www.infoperu.com

Don't know my brother and sister but think that you want to? Follow these handy links:

www.lanephillips.net

packsawallop.diaryland.com

17:27
.. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ..



new digs

05.22.05

In the previous posting, I mentioned that I had moved to Ogaki.

Ogaki may not seem a very friendly city at first--especially if you are aware that it�s name means �big fence��but I�m rather comfortable here. That�s not to say that there haven�t been adjustments to be dealt with: my commute is now over three times longer than it was before, my rent is a mere 12% of what it was before, and my apartment is twice as old and twice as high as it was before.

Would you like a glimpse of the new place? I�m rather proud of it and would like to show it off a bit if I may.

This is a view of the living room. There are two other rooms similar to this one. The tatami is very old and brown and broken down. The walls are either a freshly-painted white or tan wood-grain paneling. Behind the curtains are glass doors through which one reaches a large concrete balcony.

Next we have a view from the living room into the kitchen/dining area. In a prolonged fit of nervous creative energy, I painted the rear wall first green and then yellow and then gave the floor a major makeover. Originally it was a dark, pink-brown linoleum tile floor. Now, I can play chess on it�if I were ever so inclined.

The third picture is from the kitchen towards the bath area. To the right is the entrance, to the right of the sink is the shower/bath room, to the left of the sink is the toilet room. I am not what people usually consider patriotic, but I do have an American flag hanging in the entry hall. The red and white looks great with the floor, and also hides another expanse of wood-grain paneling.

The last picture is of the kitchen in my first apartment; a cold, sterile, nearly uninhabitable wasteland of an apartment.



00:34
.. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ..