just + L

frisbee in fukuoka

06.23.04

Another Ultimate Frisbee weekend has come to a close. This time, I went southwest to the beautiful city of Fukuoka. The grass was green, the breeze was light, the sun was shining, the sky was blue, and the players were friendly. All this plus the excitement of knowing that a huge typhoon was due to hit within the next 24 hours.

Luckily the typhoon headed east and just grazed Fukuoka. The typhoon did go straight for Nagoya, however, the city that my companions and I were hoping to fly back to in a timely manner on Monday night.

Evidently Nagoya got hit rather hard and the major train line that goes through my town was shut down. Trains were just starting to run again when I arrived at Nagoya at 9pm. My normal 45 minute trip took 3 hours. When it was all said and done, I actually spent more time going the 40km between Nagoya and Tarui, than I did from check-in time at Fukuoka airport to walk-out-the-door time at Nagoya airport.

I was so hungry on the train that I broke down and ate some of the omiyage (similar to �souvenir�) that I had purchased for friends and coworkers. I think I�ll try for less edible items next time I take a trip.

00:44
.. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ..