just + L

aunt ruth

09.09.04

My great aunt Ruth writes me letters regularly.

I don�t remember when I first met her, but I distinctly remember 2 items being impressed upon me. 1. Aunt Ruth is a tall, tall woman. 2. She can cross-stitch.

I took to Aunt Ruth immediately, aspiring to someday grow to be as tall as her [still working on it] and to learn to embroider. There�s more homemaker in me than growth hormones, so, embroider is what I did.

Aunt Ruth�s letters are amusing � although I�m not sure how much of this is intentional. Aunt Ruth writes the letters over the course of a day, writing a salutation and closing each time she picks up or puts down the letter. The content isn�t that exciting, as it typically just includes the comings and goings of all her grandchildren and great-grandchildren whom I have never met and know nothing about. But, as my mother is quite fond of saying, �Don�t look a gift-horse in the mouth.�

Today she gave me an interesting bit of advice. Please read the following in your best Louisiana accent.

�Adele, don�t get old. Takes a long time to get dressed. In a.m. shower, brush my teeth, put my panty hose on over my hammer toes that I had fixed. Put my hearing aides in and comb my hair and fix my face. Eat breakfast.�

So this gives me another idea. After building The Site of Foreseeable Future, I�ll have to start working on The Site of Age Suspension.

These ideas actually go hand-in-hand quite well.

For example, how are we supposed to be able to decide when is the right time to suspend our aging? By visiting The Site of Foreseeable Future of course! Assuming that suspending age also suspends destiny, one could visit The Site of Foreseeable Future and decide when it was that their destiny was becoming just not what they wanted, and then visit either The Site of Reversible Destiny OR The Site of Age Suspension when the appropriate time came.

Seeing as how The Site of Reversible Destiny course involves more risk and doesn�t actually stop aging, I�m guessing that The Site of Age Suspension would be more popular.

|

23:17
.. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ..